Cretan Diptam Dost
(Origanum dictamnus)

 

The Diptam-Dost belongs to the family of the labiate family. The herb is therefore a member of a very rich family of herbs, including sage, thyme, rosemary or savory.

 

In the closer relationship, the Diptam-Dost belongs to the genus Dostgewächse or Doste (bot. Origanum). This genus includes more than 40 species, which include the oregano and the marjoram in addition to the diptam dost.

 

In terms of taste, Diptam-Dost can be classified between marjoram and oregano, with which it is botanically related. Diptam-Dost tastes stronger than oregano and comes very close to marjoram with its slightly peppery note.

As a seasoning herb, the Cretan diptam is therefore suitable for hearty meals such as fried potatoes or spicy egg dishes and Mediterranean-style stews.

 

The Cretan diptam forms pink to slightly violet flowers during the flowering period (August to early October), which have the shape typical of labiate flowers. Hop-like fruit heads then develop from the flowers.

 

enlarge the detailed images with one click

Diptam-Dost

Crete, Lasithi, Siteia

KK-07-041

Diptam-Dost

Crete, Rethymnon   

KK-02-013

sitemap| imprint data privacy| current analyses+Organic certificate

Kretischer Diptam-Dost
(Origanum dictamnus)

Der Diptam-Dost zählt zur Familie der Lippenblütler. Das Kraut ist damit Mitglied einer sehr reichhaltigen Kräuterfamilie, u.a. Salbei, Thymian, Rosmarin oder Bohnenkraut.

In der engeren Verwandtschaft gehört der Diptam-Dost zur Gattung der Dostgewächse bzw. Doste (bot. Origanum). Diese Gattung umfasst mehr als 40 Arten, zu denen neben dem Diptam-Dost auch der Oregano und der Majoran zählen.

Geschmacklich lässt sich Diptam-Dost zwischen Majoran und Oregano, mit denen er botanisch verwandt ist, einordnen. Diptam-Dost schmeckt kräftiger als Oregano und kommt Majoran mit seiner leicht pfefferigen Note sehr nahe.

Als würzendes Kraut eignet sich der kretische Diptam deshalb für deftige Mahlzeiten wie Bratkartoffeln oder würzige Eierspeisen und mediterran angehauchte Eintöpfe.

Der kretische Diptam bildet zur Blütezeit (August bis Anfang Oktober) rosa bis leicht violette Blüten aus, die die für Lippenblütler typische Form aufweisen. Aus den Blüten entwickeln sich im Anschluss hopfenartige Fruchtstände.

Detail-Abbildungen mit

einem Klick vergrößern

Diptam-Dost

Crete, Lasithi, Siteia

KK-07-041

Diptam-Dost

Crete, Rethymnon   

KK-02-013